Precious Saint Bridget of Kildare* Pray for us.

Babylon Baroque

As the feast day of St. Patrick is fast approaching , I thought it a good idea to remember that Ireland has not one but three patrons. The familiar Patrick, St. Columba (perhaps another post) and dear Brigit-Brigid-Bridget (feast day Feb.1).

print of the saint by Currier & Ives

I start with this very sentimental image as it is in my own collection of saints. I have owned it for years but for some reason I have never before realized/remembered she was the patroness of Ireland. Reading the NYT the other day, an article concerning an outburst of thefts, holy relics being the target , I was relieved to hear that the “Mary of the Gael’s” jawbone was indeed safe and sound ,only the reliquary was stolen.

Good news I suppose.

Looking up from the paper I began to view my now familiar Bridget with new  sense of appreciation.

Saint…

View original post 93 more words

Leave a Reply

