Darjeeling town photo

Darjeeling town photo (Photo credit: Thunderbolt Tea)

Darjeeling Tea Leaves

Darjeeling Tea Leaves (Photo credit: fabulousfabs)

Darjeeling Silver Lining

Darjeeling Silver Lining (Photo credit: Thunderbolt Tea)

Flags containing Buddhism texts to ward off ev...

Flags containing Buddhism texts to ward off evil spirits, around a temple in Darjeeling, West Bengal, India (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Toy Train, Darjeeling, India

Toy Train, Darjeeling, India (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Darjeeling dreams…. Darjeeling dramas. Stay tuned!

What have I gotten myself into?

From Calcutta I was heading for Darjeeling. I still remember when I was in London, it was cold and rainy winter and flipping through newly ordered India Lonely Planet I read about the former British hill station, which used to be a popular summer getaway for Government officials, and is now famous for its tea. I read about the famous train, going up to 2,500 metres high, in between Himalayan peaks and through meadows, about the delicious tea, mountaineering institute, sunrise views, etc, etc.

I arrived, went for a walk, and guess what. My food poisoning from the Hampi-Calcutta train from the days before, decided to pay me a visit again. Or was it a new one? This time with a 40 Celcius degree fever, shivers all night  (and I slept in all my clothes, under two blankets and two duvets, no joke), complete utter weakness and feeling even sick to drink a cup of tea.

View original post 124 more words

Leave a Reply

